Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The Buffalo News: Niagara Lubricant resettles in new building

By Brandon Schlager | News Business Reporter

Three years after a massive, four-alarm chemical fire at 164 Chandler St. ravaged the Niagara Lubricant plant, causing millions of dollars in damage and a host of environmental scares for its surrounding community, the industrial oil and lubrication products company has rebuilt operations at a new location.

Owner Leon Smith III was joined by several local officials Thursday to introduce Niagara Lubricant's new factory, a 60,000-square-foot facility in the old American Axle & Manufacturing complex at 1057 E. Delavan Ave.

It reopens three years and four days after the blaze displaced Smith and 31 employees of the 91-year-old company, which had been operating out of a temporary building near SUNY Buffalo State since the fire while awaiting money to fund the construction of the new plant.

Niagara Lubricant committed $2.2 million to its reconstruction. It will allow for the creation of nine new positions.

The company was also approved for a $150,000 loan from the Erie County Industrial Development Agency, and received another loan from the National Development Council.

The fire on July 13, 2011, burned for 23 hours, feeding off the motor oil, greases and lubricating oil products that were manufactured there. Plumes of thick, black smoke bellowed into surrounding neighborhoods, causing hazardous conditions for residents that lasted several days after the blaze.

The cause was never determined. The factory was demolished after nearly $8 million in damage.

Niagara Lubricant's temporary building at 711 Northland Ave. was the site of a minor oil fire in February, which fire crews were able to contain.

The company's new location was retrofitted fire protection equipment in an effort to prevent a repeat disaster.

中华彩票网 天水市 永康市 成都市 商洛市 大庆市 镇江市 临夏市 阜新市 巴中市 萍乡市 崇州市 邓州市 平度市 河津市 台中市 衡水市 明光市 凤城市 吉林省 石首市 龙海市 黄石市 叶城市 都匀市 武穴市 朝阳市 青岛市 凤城市 葫芦岛市 仙桃市 合肥市 孝感市 邢台市 兴城市 平度市 利川市 洮南市 信阳市 常州市 宁国市 南阳市 徐州市 北宁市 邢台市 鹿泉市 池州市 北宁市 台中市 华阴市 延吉市 铁力市 兴城市 淮安市 汉川市 东阳市 焦作市 西安市 佛山市 潍坊市 甘肃省